African Clawed Frog Development Complete

Over the summer, I raised african clawed frogs from the eggs my pet adult frogs laid and fertilized.  The story has finally come to a close as I am now finding homes for the baby frogs.  They are going to my students, which seem quite delighted to have them.  I am so happy that they will go to people who will be informed of how to properly care for them, so that they can live long and comfortable lives and possibly live to be 30 years old (I read about one at a college that lived this long.  My oldest was 24 years old when he died.).

If you haven’t yet seen the page that shows the whole development from egg to frog, click here.

Here is a video of the babies at 87 days old before they head off to new homes…

~ by kozmicdreams on September 21, 2008.

3 Responses to “African Clawed Frog Development Complete”

  1. This is totally random (and not related to this video at all), but I absolutely love your photography of jumping spiders. I have an increasingly insatiably fascination with those little guys, and I’m thinking of catching one to study and photograph, and also to raise as a pet. I would love to chat with you through e-mail regarding the equipment (cameras) you use, and about your experiences in raising jumping spiders. I’ll leave my e-mail 🙂

  2. one of my frogs just died i think from constapation. i want to know what i can do to prevent this.

    • It is likely that you may be speaking of a bacterial infection called dropsy. It makes the frog look bloated, as if it were constipated. You can treat it with the same medications as for fish that are infected. These treatments are available at most pet stores or online.

Leave a comment