A Tragic Night—Frank and Biglegs Passed On

At around 10 o’clock on the evening of Feb. 24, 2007, I found Biglegs dead on the basement floor. I don’t know why he decided to go into the basement, after staying in my den for the past 5 months, but that’s where he was. I was lucky to spot him because he was in an area I don’t go in often. I never thought I would cry over a dead spider, but I did. His body was still limp, so I was able to mount it. I hope to have him encased in resin so that I can wear him as a pendant. This guy, Charlie Hines, at bedebug.com does a really good job with this art form and I talked to him previously about custom orders, so it should be possible.

Even more depressing, it was around 3:40 am and I had just taken Frank out of his hypertonic ringer’s solution that contained the antibiotic. He looked really bad, although I still had hope because he had swallowed a worm down earlier in the day, he had lost a lot of the bloating due to excess water, and I even saw him urinate for the first time in about a month. I was holding him in my hand, as I try to do each day for a little while, and I told him “Frank, you know I love you, and you’ve fought really hard, but if you have to die, then please die with me.” I continued to massage his back and legs. He was barely moving. About a minute later, he took a few deep breaths and went limp. I saw his hind legs twitching and I knew he had passed. His exact time of death was 1-25-2007 at 3:43am. I had previously envisioned him dying in my hand. That was how I wanted it to happen. I didn’t want him to be all alone. Although it was very sad, and I am crying now as I write this, I am glad it happened that way and that he was with me. I will miss him tremendously.

~ by kozmicdreams on February 25, 2007.

One Response to “A Tragic Night—Frank and Biglegs Passed On”

  1. I am very sorry for your loss. Pets become part of the family and we surfer a lot when they pass away.

Leave a Reply

 
