Bodyworlds 2 Exhibit

Today, Brian and I visited the Great Lakes Science Center in Cleveland, OH to see the Bodyworlds 2 exhibit by Gunther von Hagens. He uses a special plastination process that preserves real human bodies without having to be in a liquid like formaldehyde. Different layers are exposed to show different things like muscles, nerves, blood vessels, etc. Each one is posed in a unique way. It was an unbelievable experience and I would highly recommend seeing it if it comes to your area. With a Master’s degree in Biology, I thought I had a pretty good idea of what was underneath my skin. I have never had any medical classes though, so I’ve never seen a real human body opened up before. This was a truly eye-opening experience and I cannot forget the images I saw today. They kept coming back the whole drive home. It was very strange to see whole bodies without skin and with muscles detached and seemingly “floating” in space in an artistic expression or athletic pose. I found it a little difficult to view the ones that had skin because it was easier to start thinking of it as being someone’s loved one. Nonetheless, it was an incredible exhibit and I am thankful that these people donated their bodies, providing an enlightening experience for many people.

Click here to find out more about Bodyworlds.

~ by kozmicdreams on August 25, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
