George Duke Concert

I saw George Duke perform at Chene Park in Detroit tonight. I was really wishing he would play something from his time with Frank Zappa, but I knew he wouldn’t. A couple times, he asked the crowd what songs they wanted to hear. Everyone was shouting different things, so many that nothing could really be made out clearly. I was thinking “Uncle Remus” in my head. Just then, George said in a surpised voice, “did someone just say Uncle Remus? Half the people here don’t even know what you’re talking about!” Anyhow, what he did play was great. Finally, some people got up to dance and I joined them of course. At the end, he asked if we wanted to hear something slow or something funky. The overwhelming response was funky, so I got to dance again. It was a great night. I’m glad I got to see yet another FZ alumnus perform.

~ by kozmicdreams on August 6, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
