Steve Vai Concert

I saw Steve Vai at the Royal Oak Music Theater in Royal Oak, MI. He was on his “Real Illusions” Tour. I first saw him in December ’96 for the “Fire Garden” Tour. Of course, I didn’t miss “The Ultra Zone” tour in November ’99. I have also seen 3 G3 tours in which he plays with 2 other guitarists, but has never been the headliner (Joe Satriani always headlines). So this was my 6th time seeing him perform. I was glad he opened with my favorite two songs from the new album, “Glorious” and “Building the Church”. The audience wasn’t that into it. It was mostly guys standing still. I was the only one dancing but I didn’t care because I love this music and there wasn’t a song I didn’t know. And there was tons of room to dance too. Every other time I’ve seen him, it was either packed or I was confined to a seat. Some jerk from above threw ice cubes at me a couple times during the encore, which was my favorite song, “For the Love of God”. Messed up my concentration which was rather upsetting. But other than that it was a great night.

~ by kozmicdreams on April 8, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
