I went favicon crazy!

If you bookmark pages from my site, you will now see these cute little icons to the left of the link. Some browsers even show the icons up where you type in a url. They are called favicons (for favorites icon).

I had noticed that more and more web pages had these icons and I was wondering how I could get one. After searching around in Google, I ended up finding a site that explained it all. Here’s the link if you want to know how to make your own…

How to make a favicon

You can get a program called IconForge from download.com that you can use free for 20 days. It worked very well and opened my Photoshop files in psd, jpeg and gif formats. I’m sure it does many others too. I was quite pleased with the icons it produced from my pictures. Of course, you can also draw your own with this program. Here’s a link to download it…

Download Icon Forge

Unfortunately, my webhosting service didn’t allow me to upload directly to the home directory, so I had to do mine the hard way, adding a link in html code to each separate page. I figured if I have to have separate links, why not just have separate icons too. So I made different ones for different pages in the site.

Hope you like them!

~ by kozmicdreams on January 25, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
