Joe Satriani Concert

I had the privilege of seeing Joe Satriani play his guitar live at the Michigan Theater in Ann Arbor, MI on Wednesday, October 20th. I had 7th row seats, but they were on the left side. Luckily, he chose to stand on stage right (where he has been most of the times I’ve seen him play). This was the 7th time I’ve seen him (including three G3 shows in ’99, ’01 and ’03). I also met him for a special signing back in the summer of ’99 when he was promoting the “Crystal Planet” album (still my absolute favorite album). He signed my guitar that time.

At this show, he played for about 2 1/2 hours and did a mix of songs from all of his albums. I think he must have played at least one song from every album. And he even played my favorite song from his newest album, “Is There Love In Space?” called “Searching.” It was awesome. The only thing that would have made it better would be a different venue. See, I know every one of these songs and I dance to them at home all the time. Nothing is more fun than being able to dance to my favorite songs while they are being played live. At this show, we were all confined to seats and no one was standing. The whole time, I just wanted to get up and move. Oh well.

The most special time I saw him had to be at the Orbit Room in Grand Rapids, MI. He was whipping out guitar pics into the audience just before the intermission like usual and one hit me in the neck. The lights came on and I mentioned to my friend that one hit me and other people could see that I was looking for it, so everyone around me is looking around on the floor and no one’s finding anything. It wasn’t until the show started up again that I had a funny feeling—what if it went down my shirt or something? So with the lights now out, I felt up my shirt, and sure enough, a pic was actually stuck to the skin on my chest (cuz I was sweaty from dancing). At the end of the show, he hit me in the face with another pic, but someone else found that one. I even got to meet him by the tour bus that night. There is a picture of us on the Me With Celebrities Page.

~ by kozmicdreams on October 21, 2004.

Leave a Reply

 
